Joint Graduate School in Coastal and Marine Science


Our staff

Find below a list of staff from both The University of Auckland and NIWA who are currently involved in research projects at the Joint Graduate School in Coastal and Marine Science.

Staff at the University of Auckland


School/ department Name Research interests Email
School of Environment Dr Melissa Bowen Physical Oceanography: The South Pacific subtropical gyre and western boundary currents; Measuring ocean variability from satellite imagery and altimetry; Using mechanistic models to test drivers of ocean variability; Estuarine physics m.bowen@auckland.ac.nz
School of Environment Assoc Prof Kathy Campbell Paleoecology of terrestrial, coastal and marine ecosystems; Paleoenvironmental interpretation; Organism-sediment interactions; Sedimentology, sedimentary geology, stable isotope geochemistry; Life in extreme environments; Fossils on active geological margins ka.campbell@auckland.ac.nz
Department of Engineering Science Dr John Cater Large eddy simulation of channel flows; Experimental techniques in fluid dynamics including PIV, LDS & HWA; Sediment transport and flow modelling; High performance computing techniques for fluidmechanics; Aeroacoustics j.cater@auckland.ac.nz
School of Biological Sciences Prof Kendall Clements Nutritional ecology – application to marine herbivorous fishes; Evolution of marine fishes; Fish nutrition and gut microflora k.clements@auckland.ac.nz
School of Biological Sciences Dr Rochelle Constantine Behavioural ecology; Conservation biology; Marine mammal biology r.constantine@auckland.ac.nz
School of Chemical Sciences Assoc Prof Brent Copp Marine chemical ecology b.copp@auckland.ac.nz
Institute of Marine Science Assoc Prof Mark Costello Biodiversity, marine ecology, biodiversity informatics, biogeography; Aquaculture, fish ectoparasites; Conservation, Marine Protected Areas; Habitat mapping and classification m.costello@auckland.ac.nz
Department of Engineering Science Dr Adrian Croucher Numerical modelling of hydrodynamics; Contaminant transport and movement of waterborne eggs/larvae in rivers, estuaries and coastal environments a.croucher@auckland.ac.nz
Department of Engineering Science Prof Jim Denier Fluid Mechanics j.denier@auckland.ac.nz
Department of Chemical and Materials Engineering Dr Michelle Dickinson Effect of ocean acidification on the mechanical properties of calcified components of sea creatures; Measuring mechanical properties (hardness, modulus, stiffness, fracture toughness) of biological materials under hydrated conditions m.dickinson@auckland.ac.nz
School of Environment Dr Mark Dickson Coastal geomorphology; Coastal processes and erosion; Coastal management m.dickson@auckland.ac.nz
School of Biological Sciences Dr Brendon Dunphy Marine mollusc ecology, ecophysiology and aquaculture; Dispersal of larvae and physiological resilience of larvae and adults to perturbations; Optimisation of husbandry methods for ongrowing commercial species b.dunphy@auckland.ac.nz
School of Biological Sciences Assoc Prof Clive Evans Ecophysiology of Antarctic fishes; Ross Sea fishery; Ecotoxicology c.evans@auckland.ac.nz
School of Environment Dr Murray Ford Coastal processes; Coastal morphodynamics m.ford@auckland.ac.nz
School of Environment Dr Jao Gao Coastal dune evolution; Coastal change detection using GIS; Use of satellite data to sense the coastal environment jg.gao@auckland.ac.nz
Institute of Marine Science Dr Neill Herbert Finfish aquaculture, fish biology, fish physiology and behaviour in the context of exercise and growth physiology and environmental stress n.herbert@auckland.ac.nz
Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering Dr Heide Friedrich Processes taking place in water-worked environments, such as rivers: sediment movement/transport; flow structure and ecohydraulics. h.friedrich@auckland.ac.nz
Institute of Marine Science Dr Andrew Jeffs Marine aquaculture, ecology and biotechnology a.jeffs@auckland.ac.nz
School of Environment Assoc Prof Paul Kench Coastal processes; Coastal change analysis; Coastal geomorphology; Tropical coral reef processes; Coastal management p.kench@auckland.ac.nz
School of Biological Sciences / Institute of Marine Science Dr Shane Lavery Molecular ecology and evolution of marine fauna s.lavery@auckland.ac.nz
School of Environment Prof Richard LeHeron Policy and Governance; Nature-Society relationships r.leheron@auckland.ac.nz
School of Biological Sciences Prof Gillian Lewis Aquatic environmental microbiology; Aquatic microbial ecology; Microbial biofilm community structure and function gd.lewis@auckland.ac.nz
School of Environment Dr Jeff Mauk Hydrothermal mineral deposits; Ironsand deposits, Geochemistry j.mauk@auckland.ac.nz
Institute of Marine Science Prof John Montgomery Fish sensory biology; Movement ecology j.montgomery@auckland.ac.nz
Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering Dr Rolando Orense Coastal geotechnical engineering; geotechnical properties of marine clays and other soft ground; foundation design for coastal and marine structures r.orense@auckland.ac.nz
School of Environment Susan Owen Coastal Management; Environmental Governance; Environmental Policy s.owen@auckland.ac.nz
Department of Chemical and Materials Engineering Assoc Prof Ashton Partridge Development of novel chemical and biological sensors based on surface Plasmon resonance, strip sensing, conducting polymers and QCM. Recent applications include the detection of species in biological fluids a.partridge@auckland.ac.nz
School of Environment Dr Ingo Pecher Marine geophysics; Gas hydrates; Subduction zones i.pecher@auckland.ac.nz
Leigh Marine Research Centre Dr Craig Radford Underwater acoustics; Bioacustics; sensory biology c.radford@auckland.ac.nz
School of Biological Sciences Dr Matt Rayner Marine ecology; seabird biology and seabirds as marine bio-indicators m.rayner@auckland.ac.nz
Institute of Marine Science Dr Alwyn Rees Algal ecophysiology ta.rees@auckland.ac.nz
Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering Dr Ajit Sarmah Fate and behaviour of micropollutants; Modelling the decay and kinetics of antifouling agents; Analysis of emerging contaminants in marine samples; Carbon sequestration in coastal wetlands and influence on carbon dynamics a.sarmah@auckland.ac.nz
School of Environment Luitgard Schwendenmann Carbon and nutrient dynamics; Ecosystem functioning and biodiversity; Mangrove ecosystems; Land use change l.schwendenmann@auckland.ac.nz
School of Biological Sciences Assoc Prof Mary Sewell Reproduction and development of marine invertebrates – particularly echinoderms; Antarctic larvae; Ocean acidification and climate change m.sewell@auckland.ac.nz
Department of Mechanical Engineering Dr Rajnish Sharma Experimental and computational fluid dynamics, turbulent flows, energy r.sharma@auckland.ac.nz
Department of Statistics Dr Nick Shears Rocky reef ecosystems; sedimentation effects on marine systems n.shears@auckland.ac.nz
Department of Chemical and Materials Engineering Dr Filipa Silva Seafood processing and preservation filipa.silva@auckland.ac.nz
School of Environment Dr Lorna Strachan Deep marine sedimentary geology; Submarine slope processes, source to sink turbidite analysis l.strachan@auckland.ac.nz
School of Biological Sciences Dr Judy Sutherland Marine algae j.sutherland@auckland.ac.nz
Institute of Marine Science Dr Richard Taylor Ecology of rocky reefs; Ecology of mobile benthic invertebrates rb.taylor@auckland.ac.nz
Marine Science/ School of Environment   Prof Simon Thrush Coastal ecosystems: function and resilience simon.thrush@auckland.ac.nz
Top

Co-appointed staff


School/ department Name Research interests Email
Institute of Marine Science / NIWA Hamilton Dr Carolyn Lundquist Marine ecosystems: health, impacts and resilience c.lundquist@niwa.co.nz
School of Biological Sciences / NIWA Wellington Prof Wendy Nelson Marine Biodiversity: Discovery and documentation of marine macroalgae in NZ - systematics, phylogeny, biogeography, ecology, life histories w.nelson@niwa.co.nz
Department of Physics / NIWA Wellington Assoc Prof Craig Stevens Oceanography; Marine Energy c.stevens@niwa.co.nz
Department of Statistics / NIWA Auckland Dr Ian Tuck Fisheries assessment i.tuck@niwa.co.nz
Top

Staff at NIWA


Location Name Research interests Email
NIWA Hamilton Dr Rob Bell Coastal and estuarine oceanography; Coastal hazards; coastal engineering; Sea level rise and climate change; Ocean outfalls, dredging & plume dispersal; Numerical modelling rob.bell@niwa.co.nz
NIWA Wellington Dr Helen Bostock Sedimentology; Geochemistry; Paleoceanography; Chemical Oceanography h.bostock@niwa.co.nz
NIWA Hamilton Dr Judi Hewitt Benthic macrofauna; biodiversity; community ecology; impact assessment; statistcal ecology j.hewitt@niwa.co.nz
NIWA Hamilton Dr Drew Lohrer Marine coastal benthic ecology; soft sediment habitats d.lohrer@niwa.co.nz
NIWA Auckland Dr Drew Lorrey Palaeoclimate reconstruction; Atmospheric circulation processes; Sclerochronology; Otolith chemistry; ENSO; Tropical cyclones; South Pacific climate; Climate change a.lorrey@auckland.ac.nz
NIWA Auckland Dr Mark Morrison Coastal ecosystems; Fisheries and marine ecology; Habitat mapping; Fish connectivity m.morrison@niwa.co.nz
NIWA Wellington Dr Joanne O'Callaghan Oceanography; Coastal Physics; Numerical Modelling j.ocallaghan@niwa.co.nz
NIWA Auckland Dr Darren Parsons Fisheries and Marine Ecology d.parsons@niwa.co.nz
NIWA Wellington Dr Phil Sutton Physical oceanography p.sutton@niwa.co.nz
NIWA Hamilton Dr Piet Verburg Limnology; Lakes - physics and ecosystems; Impacts of climate change on aquatic systems p.verburg@niwa.co.nz
NIWA Auckland Dr James Williams Fisheries and marine ecology, including surveys and assessments of shellfish, particularly bivalve molluscs (e.g., scallops, oysters, surf clams, cockles) james.williams@niwa.co.nz
Top